Pages Navigation Menu

Agneepath Tracklist

Posted on Mar 22, 2013 in Hindi Music 2012, New albums

The music of Agneepath was composed by Ajay-Atul, with lyrics written by Amitabh Bhattacharya. Sony Music acquired the rights to the album for 9 crore (US$1.7 million) and released its digital version on 16 December 2011, followed by mass release on 19 December 2011. Sanujeet Bhujabel, the marketing director of Sony Music, revealed that live instruments would be extensively used on the soundtrack. While explaining the process involved in composing the soundtrack, Ajay said that director Karan Malhotra narrated the story to them for over four hours, whilst humming the background score that he wanted. This was followed by innumerable discussions which made them “understand each other well”. He also mentioned that the song “Chikni Chameli” was a remake of their own Marathi song “Kombdi Palali” from the film Jatra.
In January 2012, a plagiarism suit was filed against Sony Music and Dharma Productions by a Mumbai based engineer, for lifting and featuring the song “O Saiyyan” in the album. The Nagpur High Court ordered Johar to release the film, only after truncating the use of the song in it.

Read More